Modric has been individually recognised for leading Croatia to its first World Cup final. The Croatian also won the best player at last week’s Champions League awards. Real Madrid has been a top club in the past half-decade, and Modric has certainly been a huge factor for the success the club has achieved.

His playmaking abilities and equally effective defending skills have helped the Bernabeu outfit on several occasions. The Croatian has been part of Real Madrid since 2012, and the 32-year-old has won several trophies for the Los Blancos.

Modric has had a great season once again with Real Madrid, and with him also making it to the World Cup 2018 finals, the Croatian is a top contender to win the Ballon’dOr 2018.


Here are the reasons why I feel Modric should win the Ballon d’Or over the likes of Leo Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohammad Salah, and Kylian Mbappe.

#3 Champions League glory

Real Madrid Celebrate After Victory In The Champions League Final Against Liverpool
Modric celebrates after a victory against Liverpool in the UCL final 2018

For the third time in three years, Modric has won the UEFA Champions League along with his Los Blancos teammates. A hattrick of UCL titles for the man from Croatia certainly gives him an upper hand over the others, excluding Ronaldo, to win the Ballon d’Or.

From being rated ‘the worst transfer of 2012’, Modric has turned the tables and he is on his way to end the Messi-Ronaldo domination.


Leo Messi and Kylian Mbappe had disappointing UCL campaigns, with Salah losing the finals to Real Madrid. This can turn out to be a key factor in deciding the winner. Ronaldo has not had a convincing start to his Juventus career, and the stage is set for Luka to make the Ballon d’Or his own.

The FIFA Awards in a World Cup year should reward World Cup performances

The World Cup is the grandest stage in football, and a spectacular performance at it guarantees a player immortality in the annals of football history. Players like Pele, Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Muller, Johann Cruyff, Diego Maradona, Paolo Rossi, Lothar Matthaus, Romario, Zinedine Zidane and Ronaldo De Lima are still spoken of mythically till this day owing to their incredible performance at the World Cup.

ALSO READ  Jose mourinho falls due to England loss against Spain

In times gone by, the now-defunct FIFA World Best Player in any World Cup year was awarded to the best player from the World Cup winning team. Lothar Matthaus in 1991, Romario in 1994, Zinedine Zidane in 1998, Ronaldo De Lima in 2002 and Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

The merging of the awards with the Ballon d’Or in 2009, and the emergence of the extra-terrestrials that are Ronaldo and Messi changed all that, as the awards became a personal contest between the duo and World Cup performance took a backseat in determining the best player in the world.


The Author

Anyabolu Ifeayichukwu

ANYABOLU IFEANYI DOMINION GENTLE is a Nigerian born writer,comedian and poet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Information Hood © 2016 - 2019 Follow us on Facebook